Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: Add References

EndNote

Importing References from Databases

PubMed (New):

  1. Go to the PubMed website in your web browser.
  2. Execute your searches to obtain search results (Select "Send to" to save records from multiple searches as you work to either to Clipboard, My Bibliography or Collections). The My Bibliography or Collections does require an account be created with PubMed.
  3. On the search results page, use "Send to" and select the "Citation manager" option.
  4. Click on Create File.
  5. This should bring up a dialog box allowing you to save the NBIB file containing your selected references.
  6. In EndNote, open the library where you would like these references saved.
  7. Under the File menu select "Import" then "File".
  8. In the Import Option field, select the Other Filters... option and select the Import filter called "PubMed (NLM)".
  9. In the Import Data File field, select the Choose File... button, and then select your downloaded *.NBIB file.
  10. Click the Import button and your references will be imported.
  11. Please Note in step 4 you might also have an option to open the file with a program and you can select EndNote and if you have your library open then references should be imported with a few less steps needed.

Other Databases:

References can be imported to EndNote from different databases and search engines such as CINAHL, Nursing Reference Center or Google Scholar. Look for a reference/citation export option for the desired reference and select EndNote as the receiving citation manager. If you are asked to select an export file type instead of a citation manager, choose: .nbib, .enw or .ris.

Importing References from the Web (Capture Reference Tool):

Capture Reference is a browser bookmarklet that can be used to capture references from webpages into EndNote. Capture Reference scans the bibliographic information presented on a Web page and creates a reference for you to save.

To Install the Capture Reference bookmarklet:

1.    Log into EndNote Online.
2.    Click on Downloads.
3.    Drag the Capture Reference button to your Bookmarks bar (also known as "Favorites Bar" or "Bookmarks Toolbar"). In some browsers, you may need to right-click and select "Add to Favorites" or "Bookmark This Link."

How to Use Capture Reference

Browse a page you like, click the "EndNote Capture" bookmarklet on your bookmarks toolbar. Follow the instructions in the window.