Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for your natural product term and select the Natural Products Database link. Requires RGH logon when accessing offsite.
Cancer and Complementary/Alternative Medicine
Complementary and Alternative Therapies in Nursing by Sixth Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title C]onsistently offers easily accessible and timely information on how complementary therapies influence the health, comfort, and well-being of patients in a variety of clinical settings. It is an influential resource for nurses in practice, education, and research. --Janice Post-White, PhD, RN, FAAN Praise for the Sixth Edition Complementary and alternative therapies are increasingly popular and this book provides an informative and up-to-date introduction to the more commonly used treatments."--IAHPC Newsletter (International Association for Hospice and Palliative Care) The seventh edition of this highly acclaimed book continues to deliver evidence-based practice guidelines for the use of complementary and alternative therapies in nursing. It is the only book about complementary/alternative therapies that is focused on nursing, has chapters that examine specific therapies along with guidance for their implementation, and addresses therapies through a cultural/international lens. It reflects the rapid expansion of research on many complementary therapies and the exponential increase in the use of these therapies in the United States and globally. This new edition satisfies the recent requirement by the AACN for knowledge of complementary therapies as essential content for BA and Post-BA programs and will assist students in their study for NCLEX-RN test items regarding complementary therapies. New to this edition are the contributions of a new editor, Dr. Mary Frances Tracy, who is a recognized expert in the use of complementary therapies in both research and practice settings. In addition to the updating of all research-related content, the book now includes a focus on the use of alternative therapies outside of the U.S. and content on cultural therapies that nurses may encounter in clinical agencies. The book incorporates the most up-to-date information from the National Center for Complementary/Alternative Medicine (NCCAM), the relationship of technology to complementary therapies, updated information about precautions to be taken or interactions to note when using these therapies, instructions for the use of various therapies, and available resources and legal aspects related to the use of complementary therapies. The book includes an interactive PDF. New to the Seventh Edition: Completely updated research-related contents A focus on the international use of alternative/complementary therapies Incorporates new information from the National Center for Complementary/Alternative Medicine including their most recent classifications for complementary therapies New content on cultural therapies that nurses may encounter Technology and complementary therapies New information on precautions and potential interactions Instruction techniques for each therapy in exhibit form Legal concerns regarding the use of complementary therapies New references providing cutting edge content
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Integrative Medicine by Stay on the cutting edge of today's most promising trends in complementary and alternative medical treatments with Dr. David Rakel's Integrative Medicine, 4th Edition. Written by physicians who are experts in both traditional and integrative medicine, this highly regarded, evidence-based reference covers therapies such as botanicals, supplements, mind-body, lifestyle choices, nutrition, exercise, spirituality, and more. Integrative Medicine, 4th Edition uses a clinical, disease-oriented approach, offering practical guidance for reducing costs and improving patient care. Helps you safely and effectively incorporate complementary and alternative therapies into your everyday practice, while focusing on prevention and wellness for a better quality of life. Uses the reliable SORT method (Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy) to provide evidence-based ratings, grading both the evidence and the relative potential harm. Explains how to make the best use of integrative medicine and the mechanisms by which these therapeutic modalities work, keeping you at the forefront of the trend toward integrative health care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Includes 13 brand-new chapters, covering hot topics such as personalized medicine, MTHFR mutation, food allergy and intolerance, the gut-immune influence on systemic inflammation and disease, chelation therapy, testosterone deficiency, adrenal fatigue, and much more. Features more than 100 significantly revised chapters and hundreds of new figures and tables throughout. Provides online access to new multiple-choice questions for every chapter, perfect for board exam review - plus downloadable Patient Education Guides and video collections.
Publication Date: 2017-04-13