Archives web page: Supporting the Archives

Help us preserve the history of Rochester Regional Health, its hospitals, Schools of Nursing, and its affiliates by donating or transferring the following materials:

• Founding documents or charters
• By-laws or other legal documents
• Correspondence, reports, and other memoranda of the institution's governing board(s) and committees
• Official records of the administration and of other major departments, including correspondence, files, subject files, manuals, and reports;
• Accreditation reports and supporting documentation>
• Minutes and reports of committees
• Annual budgets, audit reports, and inventories
• Architectural drawings of the institution's buildings, including any renovations or alterations
• Official publications such as annual reports, newsletters, bulletins, procedure manuals, directories, and brochures
• Audio-visual material and tapes of conferences held by the institution
• Photographs of the house staff, employees, institutional environment, events, etc.
• Memorabilia - uniforms, small instruments, etc.
• Biographical materials on staff, including personal records of retired or deceased staff
• Directories of medical staff, nursing school graduates, in-house (phone, etc.)
• Records from closed nursing and specialty schools

We do not accept patient records or anything that may fall under HIPAA restrictions.

If you're not sure if what you'd like to share is something we'd be interested in, call us at 585/922-1847 or email us. We'll help you figure it out!

Thank you for your consideration and assistance in preserving your history!

There are many ways to support the Archives. Thank you for your consideration!

If you would like to make a donation, become a Friends of the Archives member, or volunteer, please use the contact information in each section. 

The Friends of the Archives is the membership society that helps support the collections held in the archives. All funds received help to offset the cost of maintaining of all the collections and general operating funds for the museum and archives.

Friends memberships are renewable on a yearly basis and provide benefits such as early notification of upcoming programs, subscriptions to Archives publications, copies of School of Nursing transcripts at no cost, and attendance at quarterly Archives Council meetings, by appointment.

Memorial donations to our Endowment Fund are also welcomed.

Friends of the Archives memberships and memorial donations may be made online, by phone (call 585/922-1215) or by mail (Rochester Regional Health Foundations  330 Monroe Avenue, Suite 400  Rochester, NY 14607).

Thank you for your consideration and support!

There are many volunteer opportunities at the Archives. We work with volunteers from age 16 up (retirees from RRH are especially welcome) and have projects that can be done either on site or at home.

Volunteer positions include (but aren't limited to):

• Catalogers - cataloging digital and print photos or material culture objects. Responsibilities include identifying and numbering photos and objects, entry into the collection database (we'll teach you how!), and other collection care activities.
• Sewing - creating padded hangers, dust covers, and storage bags for uniforms, large textile items, and the occasional material culture object. You can sew at home and bring the items in to be put in place; we'll also provide the needed fabric and notions.
• Archival - the jobs aren't always exciting, but lots of little things go into organizing archival materials. If you enjoy organizing and details, these could be the projects for you.
• Research - creating and updating chronologies, biographical files, indexing scrapbooks, and researching events, departments, and people. These are projects for people who like going down the rabbit hole.

If you'd like to volunteer with us, please call (585/922-1847) or email the Archives office to set up a time to come in and visit. After that, we can connect you with one of RRH's Volunteer Offices to go through the onboarding process.

Thank you for your time and hands!