Coronavirus Disease by
Coronavirus Disease: From Origin to Outbreak provides a comprehensive review of coronaviruses, particularly COVID-19, its transmission, and disease pathology. The book covers the viral structure and genetics of coronaviruses, the pathogenesis and unique characteristics of coronavirus infection, and the evolving nature of our understanding of coronaviruses and disease. It also looks at the history of SARS-CoV and MERS-CoV infections and its global spread. The book examines the effectiveness of various preventive measures and new therapeutic agents that are either currently available or expected to available. Finally, it details the psychological and societal impact the virus and disease has in outbreak regions and what the financial impact an outbreak has on the healthcare system and local economies.
COVID-19 and the Heart: a Case-Based Pocket Guide by
From frontline experts on the topic--everything you need to know about COVID-19 and how it affects the heart COVID-19's effect on the cardiovascular system continues to drive increases in morbidity and mortality. Building a solid understanding of the disease spectrum is critical for accurately diagnosing, treating, and managing patients with heart issues in the time of COVID. Written by a team of experts who worked on the frontlines in New York City throughout the worst of the pandemic, COVID-19 and the Heart: A Cased-Based Pocket Guide is a one-of-a-kind resource for providing safe, effective care for COVID-19-related heart conditions. Designed for quick and easy learning and on-the-spot clinical decision making, this practical guide is organized into chapters based on genuine clinical cases and provides the best approach for each one. The authors highlight key points throughout the clinical content for easy review, and provide up-to-date information on clinical trials/vaccines, diagnostic and treatment algorithms, therapeutics, monitoring, and patient education. Ideal for healthcare workers actively engaged in the ongoing pandemic and students seeking to build their expertise, COVID-19 and the Heart is the go-to guide to making the right clinical judgments with respect to the cardiac manifestations of COVID-19. COVID-19 and the Heart starts with the physiology of COVID-related heart disease, and walks you through COVID's effect on: ACS Valvular heart disease Arrythmia Pericardial disease Heart failure Shock Thromboembolism Hypertension
COVID-19 Pandemic by
Providing a broad, global view of all aspects related to preparation for and management of SARS-CoV2, COVID-19 Pandemic: Lessons from the Frontline explores and challenges the basis of knowledge, the transmission of information, and the preparation and epidemiology tactics of healthcare systems worldwide. This timely and provocative volume presents real-world viewpoints from leaders in different areas of health management, who address questions such as: What will we do differently if another pandemic comes? Have we learned from our mistakes? Can we do better? This practical, wide-ranging approach also covers the problem of contrasting sources, health system preparedness, effective preparation of and protection offered to individual healthcare professionals, and the human tragedy surrounding the pandemic. Offers a global perspective on how the COVID-19 pandemic was handled, things that went wrong, and things that could be done differently in the future. Covers multiple aspects of the pandemic, including disaster preparedness; perspectives from patients, families, and healthcare providers; inequity of medical resources; risk exposure on the frontline; government decision making; lockdowns; the role of politics; the burden of COVID-19 in various countries worldwide; and future directions. Reflects on the role of professional societies and NGOs in advising governments and supranational organizations. Features a diverse list of contributors, including health decision makers and frontline healthcare personnel.
Exploring Lessons Learned from a Century of Outbreaks
In November 2018, an ad hoc planning committee at the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine planned two sister workshops held in Washington, DC, to examine the lessons from influenza pandemics and other major outbreaks, understand the extent to which the lessons have been learned, and discuss how they could be applied further to ensure that countries are sufficiently ready for future pandemics. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from both workshops.
Impact of COVID-19 on the Careers of Women in Academic Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
The spring of 2020 marked a change in how almost everyone conducted their personal and professional lives, both within science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and medicine (STEMM) and beyond. The COVID-19 pandemic disrupted global scientific conferences and individual laboratories and required people to find space in their homes from which to work. It blurred the boundaries between work and non-work, infusing ambiguity into everyday activities. While adaptations that allowed people to connect became more common, the evidence available at the end of 2020 suggests that the disruptions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic endangered the engagement, experience, and retention of women in academic STEMM, and may roll back some of the achievement gains made by women in the academy to date. The Impact of COVID-19 on the Careers of Women in Academic Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine identifies, names, and documents how the COVID-19 pandemic disrupted the careers of women in academic STEMM during the initial 9-month period since March 2020 and considers how these disruptions - both positive and negative - might shape future progress for women. This publication builds on the 2020 report Promising Practices for Addressing the Underrepresentation of Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine to develop a comprehensive understanding of the nuanced ways these disruptions have manifested. The Impact of COVID-19 on the Careers of Women in Academic Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine will inform the academic community as it emerges from the pandemic to mitigate any long-term negative consequences for the continued advancement of women in the academic STEMM workforce and build on the adaptations and opportunities that have emerged.
Integrating Clinical Research into Epidemic Response
The 2014 "2015 Ebola epidemic in western Africa was the longest and most deadly Ebola epidemic in history, resulting in 28,616 cases and 11,310 deaths in Guinea, Liberia, and Sierra Leone. The Ebola virus has been known since 1976, when two separate outbreaks were identified in the Democratic Republic of Congo (then Zaire) and South Sudan (then Sudan). However, because all Ebola outbreaks prior to that in West Africa in 2014 "2015 were relatively isolated and of short duration, little was known about how to best manage patients to improve survival, and there were no approved therapeutics or vaccines. When the World Heath Organization declared the 2014-2015 epidemic a public health emergency of international concern in August 2014, several teams began conducting formal clinical trials in the Ebola affected countries during the outbreak. Integrating Clinical Research into Epidemic Response: The Ebola Experience assesses the value of the clinical trials held during the 2014 "2015 epidemic and makes recommendations about how the conduct of trials could be improved in the context of a future international emerging or re-emerging infectious disease events.
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by
Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this unique text provides complete, concise coverage of epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in clear, easy-to-understand terms. One convenient volume delivers must-know content in four complex areas-information that's sure to be covered in today's classrooms and on USMLE exams-presented with a clinical focus and real-life medical examples throughout. Depth of coverage, concise writing style, outstanding online review questions, a clinical emphasis . these features and more make Jekel's your go-to resource for learning, study, and review. Focuses on clinical problem solving and decision making using epidemiologic concepts and examples. Contains more clinical cases throughout, including global examples. Offers expanded coverage of the impact of big data and precision medicine, as well as an updated and reorganized biostatistics section. Features quick-reference boxes that showcase key concepts and calculations, and dynamic illustrations that facilitate learning using a highly visual approach. Provides almost 300 multiple-choice chapter review questions and answers in print, with additional questions and more online at Student Consult. Aligns content to board blueprints for the USMLE as well as the three specialties certified by the American Board of Preventive Medicine: Occupational Medicine, and Public Health & General Preventive Medicine-and is recommended by the ABPM as a top review source for its core specialty examination. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site, with an image and table bank as well as chapter overviews as PowerPoints, is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at: https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Neurological Care and the COVID-19 Pandemic by
Offering a comprehensive review of the neuropathology of SARS-CoV-2, Neurological Care and the COVID-19 Pandemic provides up-to-date coverage of the wide array of the pathogen's neurological symptoms and complications. Drs. Ahmad Riad Ramadan and Gamaledin Osman discuss the neuropathology of SARS-CoV-2, its neurological manifestations, and the impact the pandemic has had on the care of patients with pre-existing neurological conditions. The authors also offer an overview of emerging treatments and vaccines, as well as ways healthcare systems have reorganized in order to respond to the pandemic. Offers a thorough discussion of the impact the virus has had on the care of patients with neurological ailments, accompanied by recommendations on how to care for these patients. Covers the impact of COVID-19 on patients with cerebrovascular diseases, seizures, demyelinating diseases, neuromuscular disorders, movement disorders, headache disorders, cognitive disorders, and neuro-oncological disorders. Includes a detailed case study of how one healthcare system hit hard by COVID-19 successfully transformed itself to respond to the challenges imposed by the pandemic. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource.
Textbook of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 by
Written by physicians and scientists with expertise in this evolving area, Textbook of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 provides a coherent, readable, and clinically relevant review of the biology, epidemiology, pathophysiology, immunology, clinical features, current treatment, and prevention strategies for the SARS-CoV-2 virus. Using both a systemic and topic-based approach, it summarizes and clarifies the extensive literature published on SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19, includes a comprehensive bibliography, and provides answers to clinical questions at the point of care from multiple specialty perspectives. Includes dedicated chapters for pulmonary, cardiac, neurological, and oral manifestations of COVID-19. Covers therapeutics and novel therapeutic targets of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19. Addresses the diagnostic and management challenges of COVID-19 in the emergency department. Discusses COVID-19 in special populations, including the effect of SARS-CoV-2 infection in pregnant mothers and to the fetus and newborn. Provides a systematic overview and comparison of vaccines that are approved and in development. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.